Castro Valley Library


“50 Shades” Read Alikes by crselig2014
Monday, February 23, 2015, 10:26 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

British author E. L. James probably didn’t know she would hit the jackpot with her 2011 self-published ebook Fifty Shades of Grey. The erotic romance novel tells the story of the relationship between a college graduate, Anatasia Steele, and a successful businessman, Christian Grey, and includes explicit sex scenes featuring bondage, dominance, and sadism/masochism.

Though an unknown author without the backing of a publisher, James and her early fans used book blogs and word of mouth recommendations to grow readership. By 2012 the story had become popular enough to draw the attention of Vintage Books, which then published the Fifty Shades trilogy. A film adaptation of the first book was released earlier this month.

While critics have generally panned the book for poor writing, its popularity is undeniable. It has been a best-seller in the U.S. and around the world, selling more than 100 million copies. So if you’re one of those millions of fans, and you’re looking for a similar book to read, consider these titles that are available at the Alameda County Library:

  • The Age of Impropriety by Pam Rosenthal
  • Belinda by Anne Rampling (Anne Rice)
  • Bared to You by Sylvia Day
  • Belong to Me by Shayla Black
  • Be Mine by Laura Kasischke
  • Chemical Pink by Kate Arnoldi
  • Dark Secret Love: A Story of Submission by Alison Tyler
  • Diary of a Submissive: A Modern True Tale of Sexual Awakening by Sophie Morgan
  • The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski
  • Exit to Eden by Anne Rampling (Anne Rice)
  • His to Command by Opal Carew
  • Hot Ticket by Olivia Cunning
  • In the Cut by Susanna Moore
  • Gabriel’s Inferno by Sylvain Reynard
  • Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey
  • Lion’s Heat by Lora Leigh
  • Never the Face: A Story of Desire by Ariel Sands
  • Never Too Much by Lori Foster
  • Pleasure by Eric Jerome Dickey
  • Sleeping Beauty trilogy by A.N. Roquelaure (Anne Rice)
  • Sweet Persuasion by Maya Banks
Advertisements

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: